Subscribe to our
July 1768 Johan Abraham Nel of Stellenbosch rested near a fountain close
to the Sak river during the birth of his son, planting an almond tree in
honour of the event. This tree was eventually to become enormous, and was
an oasis in the dry treeless area of the Karee Mountains. In 1845 Johann
Heinrich Lutz of Switzerland established a mission station named
Amandelboom (Almond tree) at this spot. In 1883 the name was changed to
Williston, in honour of the cape Colonel Secretary, Colonel H Willis.
covers an area of 13 264 km2 and became an official district in
Williston is part of the Karoo Highland Municipality which cover
Williston, Fraserburg and Sutherland.
folk art route: Unique tombstones, a form of folk art, were chiselled out
of local sandstone by James Wright and Cornelius de Waal.
hills: East of Williston stand two hills, each shaped like a sugar-loaf. A
footpath leads to the top. From the hills choirs would sing spiritual
songs which would echo in harmony all around.
wilderness route: 4 km on the Carnarvon rd, turn right on hte Langbaken rd
– 12 km to Walkraal. Riverine rabbits and various scares bird species.
Williston Quiver tree wood: Jaskloof – 95 km on Van Wyksvlei road.
For further info: Karoo Highland Info Centre, tel. 023-5711265
This page was last updated on
07 June 2009